Deleting messages on Facebook is not as easy as deleting your email, as Facebook intends to keep your conversation history in Messages and Facebook Chat intact.
To delete messages on Facebook, you will need to open the individual message, go to options and start selecting the message you want to delete. If you have many messages, the process can be very time-consuming. Otherwise, you can simply remove the messages from the message list, but doing this will not remove the message permanently. Instead it will be archived, and will reappear when the person sends you a new message.
Instead of visiting each message thread, check out Facebook Delete All Messages, a handy extension for Google Chrome. Here’s how to get started..
- Download Facebook – Delete all messages extension on the chrome from here.
- After Installation of the extension, log in to your Facebook account of which you would like to delete the chats or messages.
- Open Facebook inbox where you can now view all your chats that you have done with your friends.
- At the TOP RIGHT CORNER of your browser, click on the DELETE ALL MESSAGES extension and follow the instructions to proceed further.
- After going through the instructions, click on BEGIN DELETION. You will receive a pop up after clicking, just to confirm the action of DELETING ALL MESSAGES you have selected.
- After a moment, all your Facebook chat history and messages will be deleted.
With this chrome extension, you don’t have to go through the long process of message deleting, forever clicking to delete your Facebook messages. Get the extension installed onto your Chrome browser, and you can now delete messages with a single click!